Tuesday 23 December 2014

Happy Christmas from the Weitzs and Mahjong News!   


KIRKLAND, Quebec (Canada) - Even though their Christmas Card has to travel all the way from Canada to Holland, Allan and Lila Weitz never fail, like Santa. For years, they have been the first to get their Christmas card in the postbox of Mahjong News. And then, we mean a real postbox, not a digital one.

Allan and his wife Lila Weitz are long time collectors of mahjong sets. They always picture themselves on the card they send their numerous friends, in Canada and world wide. E.g. last year, we saw them shopping and wearing T-shirts with the text ‘Mah-Jongg Sets Wanted’. This year, they pose behind some of their most beautiful mah-jongg cases.

Thank you so much for your faithful Season’s Greetings, Lila and Allan. Mahjong News seizes the opportunity to share your pretty card with all mahjong friends on the globe who are the visitors of the Independent Internet Mahjong Newspaper: Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Morten Andersen Danish Riichi Champion

Morten Andersen (centre) is the new Danish riichi champion.COPENHAGEN - Morten Andersen is the successor to Kim Iversen as the Danish riichi mahjong champion. In Copenhagen, he won the 2009 Danish Riichi Open with a giant leap (78,600 vs. 48,000 points) over the runner-up, Anders Labich. Martin Faartoft ended in third position. Best foreign player was Wai Ken Tsang from the United Kingdom. 32 players competed in the championship.

The results

Pos. First Name Last NameNat.Points
1 Morten Andersen DK 78600
2 Anders Labich DK 48000
3 Martin Faartoft DK 46500
4 Claes Schütt DK 46400
5 Wai Ken Tsang GB 44500
6 Jeppe Stig Nielsen DK 39400
7 Martin W. Jacobsen DK 38800
8 Kim Iversen DK 38500
9 Sam Bridge GB 38500
10 Robert Jensen DK 37900
11 Brian Krog DK 34300
12 Camilla Dalsgaard DK 13800
13 Sheila Jakobsen DK 11400
14 Sune G. Thomsen DK 10900
15 Tobias Olsen DK 7200
16 Freddy Christiansen DK 5800
17 Gemma Collinge GB 4200
18 Sebastian Powell GB 1700
19 Tina Christensen DK 1500
20 Harry Kal NE -5800
21 Henrik K. Nielsen DK -18400
22 Tobias Klüpfel GE -21200
23 Henrik Leth DK -31800
24 Alexander Doppelhofer AU -35300
25 Isabel Bahiano Steenholm DK -36200
26 Sylvain Malbec FR -36500
27 Frank Rostved DK -42900
28 Lars Therkelsen DK -52200
29 Jeremia Kunnari FI -54800
30 Andreas Pistek GE -61900
31 Mikko Käyhkö FI -75100
32 Lena Smith DK -75800

Mahjong News | Copyright © 1997-2014 | About Us | Sitemap | Contact