Welcome to the Tournament Section of Mahjong News


A overview of the latest articles here you will find here:


Evgeniy Kim is Best at SBR Moscow Open

Evgeniy Kim (1st and center), with Tatiana Goptareva (2nd and left) and Alexander Bogatikov (3rd).

MOSCOW, Russia - First in Europe official tournament of Sichuan Bloody Rules (SBR) took place in Moscow this Saturday. The winner is Evgeniy Kim, riichi player, doctor by profession. Runner-up is Tatiana Goptareva, 3rd place is taken by Alexander Bogatikov. Twenty players from Moscow, Saint Petersburg and Ivanovo took part in the tournament.

Girl Power in Uppsala

Isabel Bahiano Steenholm (1st and center), with Moa Henriët (2nd and left) and Pauline van der Linden (3rd). Photo courtesy of Frank Rostved.

UPPSALA, Sweden - This weekend thirty-two players from seven countries gathered in Uppsala for this year’s Swedish Open Championship in Mahjong.  After seven rounds Isabel Bahiano Steenholm could call herself winner. The strong Dane thus showed that the top achievement in Porto last month was not just luck but very much good performance. The runner up Moa Henriet from Sweden won the prize as best Swede, and Pauline van den Linden from the Netherlands ended up as third.

Zeyu Sun Winner of French Riichi Open 2017

Zeyu Sun is laureated as the winner of the French Riichi Open 2017.

MARSEILLE, France - ‘Mister Riichi’ Zeyu Sun is the winner of the French Riichi Open. Also after seven hanchan, he was number one in the ranking. In the final two rounds against the top four players, he emerged as the strongest player.

Zeyu Sun Still Leads When Finals Start in French Open

Start of the French Riichi Open. Photo Nicole Haasbroek

MARSEILLE, France - French player Zeyu Sun is in the lead after the first seven hanchan of the French Riichi Open. The competition will be concluded today with the two final rounds, hanchan 8 and 9. The final two tables will be streamed live.

French Riichi Championship To Set New Standard With Live Broadcast

Screenshot from a Twitch broadcast of 'Chuuren Potos' ("Tournoi de Printemps")

MARSEILLE, France - Upcoming weekend, riichi mahjong club 'Chuuren Potos' ('Nine Gates') from Marseille will host the prestigious "Championnat de France" ("French Championship" - RERS2). Over the course of two days thirty-two competitors will battle it out during nine hanchans, while current French Champion Anthony Ea will try to defend his crown. At first glimps it looks 'business as usual', but this event could very likely set the gold standard for future mahjong tournaments.

Caroline Arnaud Plays the Best in Paris

Podium of the Paris tournament. From l: Bernard Lao, Caroline Arnaud, Matthieu Pfeiffer.

PARIS, France - Today in Paris, a group of 48 French players gathered for a tournament. Caroline Arnaud did the best; she won the tournament, before Bernard Lao and Mattthieu Pfeiffer.

Third Montreal Riichi Open for Andrew Whitcomb

Podium of the Montreal Riichi Open.

MONTREAL, Canada - Andrew Whitcomb has won the Third Montreal Riichi Open. He shared the podium with Daniel Moreno (2nd place) and Anne Rinfret (3rd). Sixteen players competed in this two-day event.

Alexey Leontyev Victorious in '24 Hours of Prague'

(left to right) Sergey Petrushchenko, victor Alexey Leontyev, Victor Grishin

PRAGUE, Czech Republic - Three players from the Russian Federation occupied the top spots at the "Prague Open Riichi Tournament" (RERS2). Alexey Leontyev easily dominated his opponents, scoring 290,600 points. Runner up was Victor Grishin, winner of the Russian Open Riichi Championship 2014, with 161,300 points, while Sergey Petrushchenko claimed third place with 118,600 points.

Natalia Bula Wins First Katowice Riichi Open

(left to right) Katarzyna Chabelska, Natalia 'Haneman Hunter' Bula, Olga Igarashi

KATOWICE, Poland - Natalia Bula has won the "Katowice Riichi Open 2017", the first riichi tournament in the Upper Silesian region (no RERS) with 61,300 points. Katarzyna Chabelska scored 43,000 points to claim second place; Olga Igarashi came in third, scoring 31,300 points.

Rare Opportunity for Free Mahjong Seminar with Daina Chiba

Daina Chiba (on right) with Dragon Owl organizer Marek Wakuluk.

BIELAWA, Poland- If you are so lucky to live within traveling distance to Bielawa, Poland, then you are also fortunate enough to be able to take advantage of one of the few opportunities to sit in July 30th on a free world-class mahjong strategy course by Daina Chiba being held in conjunction with the July 29th Dragon Owl Riichi Contest.


  • No comments found

Post comment as a guest