A peerless distinguished figure.
A peerless distinguished figure, Nijmegen, 2005.

BUSSUM, the Netherlands  - The year 2017 will see the second reiteration of the World Riichi Championship in Vegas, October 4th-8th, demonstrating that it is not just a one-off event, but is solidifying into a reoccuring world event. Mahjong News sits down with its framer, Martin Rep.

Mahjong News: Let’s begin by your telling us a little bit about yourself, who you are, and where you come from.

Martin Rep: I am a Dutch newspaper journalist, born 1946, close to Amsterdam. I worked for a number of newspapers and also some magazines in several cities in the Netherlands.

Mahjong News: How did you come to be playing mahjong?

Martin Rep: My elder brother Jelte taught me and my wife Dicky. He is a real mahjong fanatic, and he wrote several books about mahjong. His books were also published in English; just google him. Jelte is also a journalist, but later went to work for television.  

Mahjong News: You have a long history of advocating mahjong in Europe and the World at large. Can you share with us your efforts, and what were your motivations behind that effort?

Martin Rep: I am a journalist, and journalist are teachers - kind of. They want to share things. So when I became a mahjong enthusiast, I started a website to tell the world, beginning with the Netherlands, about it. I soon discovered that, although a few mahjong tournaments were played in my country, results were never published. So that’s one of the first things I did.